Computing (RQF)

Brochure download button

Computing (RQF)

The new BTEC Higher National qualifications in Computing are designed to address an increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Levels 4 and 5, thereby providing students with a clear line of sight to employment or to progression to a degree at Level 6.


Pathways within this qualification*:

  • Network Engineering
  • Software Engineering
  • Data Analytics  
  • Security Intelligent Systems  
  • Applications Development

If you'd like more information, or to find a college that delivers the BTEC Higher Nationals in Computing, you can search your area on our handy map or visit any the following sites:

NCS Button


UCAS button


Whatuni button


Or download our brochure for more information about BTEC Higher Nationals, other subjects and pathways available, and where these qualifications can take you. 

Careers after a BTEC Higher National in Computing

Some typical jobs after completing the HNC** Some typical jobs after completing the HND**
Systems Engineer; Support Technician; Database Administrator; Servicedesk Technician; System Testing Engineer; Network Support Technician. Network Engineer; Systems Architect Network Manager; Software Developer; Systems Designer; Business Analyst; Games Developer; Web Developer; Business Analyst Marketing Analyst; Data Engineer; fraud Analyst; Operation research Scientist; forensic Computer Analysts; IT Security Coordinator; Ethical Hacker; fraud Analyst

*This list is a combination of pathways at both BTEC HNC and HND level. Please consult with your local college regarding exact pathways to be delivered within your chosen qualification. 

**These are suggestions of the typical job roles related to this qualification at this level. Pearson does not guarantee employment upon completion, and you will have a responsibility to make sure that you meet the employer’s requirements.